.no-js-element { display:block; }
Print/Share this page

Your Council

Outlines history of council and local laws.

We are one of 79 councils throughout Victoria.


Formed in 1994, East Gippsland Shire Council covers nearly 10 per cent of Victoria.

Our Corporate Symbol

The graphic symbolises the unification of the five former Local Government Councils to create East Gippsland Shire Council:

  • City of Bairnsdale
  • Shire of Bairnsdale
  • Shire of Omeo
  • Shire of Orbost
  • Shire of Tambo

It visually describes the unique natural features of the region including the mountains, waterways and vegetation and symbolises the future growth and development of the area.


It is a dynamic, unique and powerful mark that is readily identified as belonging to East Gippsland. 

Its colours of blue, green and yellow are fresh, bright and clear, in keeping with the pristine nature of the Shire.


Local Government Act 1989

The Local Government Act 1989 sets out the legislative framework that requires Councils to be accountable to their local communities in the performance of functions, the exercise of powers and the use of resources.  You can find the latest version of the Local Government Act online at www.legislation.vic.gov.au in the 'Victorian Law Today Library'. 

Processes of Municipal Government

The way Council conducts its formal meetings and applies its Common Seal are detailed in Local Law No. 1 and Local Law No. 2 respectively.  


Local Law No. 1

Local Law No 1 -Procedures for Formal Council Meetings 2017


Local Law No. 2

Local Law No 2 - Processes of Municipal Government Common Seal 2017




Rate this page - was the information useful to you?

Please type the code in the box below