media releases
Orbost Airport's triumph at AAA National Industry Awards 2023
Date of Issue: 
November 28, 2023

The Orbost Airport, managed by East Gippsland Shire Council, has secured the National Small Regional (non-RPT) Aerodrome of the Year title for the second time in recent years at the Australian Airports Association (AAA) National Industry Awards 2023 in Melbourne.

This remarkable feat marks three consecutive years that East Gippsland Shire Council-managed aerodromes have proudly claimed a prestigious national industry award.

Mayor Cr Tom Crook said Council was elated and immensely proud of Orbost Airport's continued success at the AAA National Industry Awards.

“This achievement underscores our commitment to maintaining the highest standards of safety, innovation and functionality in the aviation sector,” Cr Crook said.

Orbost Airport's success is attributed to its outstanding efforts in various areas, with a particular focus on vegetation management. Council’s dedication to safety is evident in the successful removal of significant penetrations of the Obstacle Limitation Surface (OLS), ensuring uncompromised aircraft safety.

"The commitment to vegetation management, upgrading security and wildlife-proof fencing, and landside improvements demonstrates our unwavering dedication to providing a safe and efficient environment for all stakeholders," Cr Crook said.

The upgraded security measures, including wildlife-proof fencing along the entire airside boundary, enhance safety and security for all airport users. Landside improvements provide tenants with year-round weather access entry tracks, showcasing Orbost Airport's commitment to excellence in both functionality and aesthetics.

"Orbost Airport plays a vital role in our community, accommodating small recreational general aviation, medical services such as Air Ambulance Victoria and Angel Flight, and serving as an airbase during emergency aerial firefighting activities, especially during prone summer bushfire seasons," Cr Crook said.

With an estimated annual aircraft movement of 1000-1500 flights, Orbost Airport continues to be a cornerstone of East Gippsland's aviation landscape and plays a strategically important role in times of fire emergency and to connect locals with health services in metropolitan Melbourne.

Here’s a full list of winners:

Airport Excellence Award: DEI Leadership Award | Melbourne Airport and Brisbane Airport: Flying high on International Women's Day

Airport Excellence Award: Operations Award | Sydney Airport: Security Operations Real-Time Dashboard

Airport Excellence Award: Infrastructure Award | Brisbane Airport: International Apron Rectification Project

Airport Excellence Award: Sustainability Award | Cairns Airport: Cairns Airport SLL - A ground-breaking Agreement to Support Threatened Species

Airport Excellence Award: Commercial Award | Brisbane Airport: Brisbane's Best Bites

Airport Excellence Award: Innovation Award | Sydney Airport: Tripsim by SYD, an innovative digital product launched by Sydney Airport

Small Regional Airport/Aerodrome | Fulton Hogan and Jacobs: Cessnock Airport Upgrade Project

Large Regional Airport | ASI Solutions (UK): Sustainably extending the life of Mackay Airport RWY14/32

Major, Metro and Capital City Airport | To70 Aviation: Western Sydney International Airport - Interactive Flight Path and Aircraft Noise Impact Tool

Emerging Airport Leader Award | Hayley Vale – Port Hedland International Airport

Appreciation Award | Greg Fordham – Managing Director, Airbiz

Small Regional (non-RPT) Aerodrome of the Year | Orbost Airport: Vegetation Management, Airport Safety & Security

Small Regional (RPT) Airport of the Year | Gove Airport: Terminal Revitalisation 2022/23

Large Regional Airport of the Year | Port Hedland International Airport: Port Hedland International Airport

Major Airport of the Year | Cairns Airport: Growing Sustainably for Our Community

Metro Airport of the Year | Bankstown Airport: Bankstown Airport

Capital City of the Year | Brisbane Airport: Sustainability Leadership

Media Enquiries: Communications (03) 5153 9500

Proudmoment as Jason Connelly (left) and Douglas Sward (right) receive the award for Small Regional(non-RPT) Aerodrome of the Year from National Chair atAustralian Airports Association, Kym Meys.

Latest Media Releases