media releases
Council seeks members for agriculture committee
Date of Issue: 
May 5, 2023

East Gippsland Shire Council has announced the opening of applications for three positions on its Agriculture Sector Advisory Committee, inviting experienced community members to provide informed insight into the region's agricultural sector.

The positions are open to agriculture operators, agribusiness owners and community members with relevant experience and interest in the agriculture sector.

The committee was formed in 2021 and serves as an important forum for Council to gain insight into the issues impacting the agriculture sector.

Since its formation, the committee has provided valuable advice and information to Council on matters including the Economic Development Strategy, Environmental Sustainability Strategy, Road Safety Strategy, Sustainable Water Strategy and the Rural Land Use Strategy. It has also assisted with advocacy efforts, contributed to the design of the 2021Farmer Survey Feedback report, visited and toured innovative farms in Orbost region and formed the Rates Working Group.

The new members will work alongside eight existing members, including the Mayor, Cr Mark Reeves, Cr John White, Council CEO Anthony Basford, General Manager Place and Community Stuart McConnell, and industry representatives from East Gippsland Catchment Management Authority, Agriculture Victoria, and Food and Fibre Gippsland.

Cr Reeves expressed his gratitude to the outgoing members of the committee.

He also welcomed the appointment of three new members to work with the diverse and skilled committee over the next two years.

“This committee plays a vital role in ensuring long-term support and informed advice for our shire’s agriculture sector,” Cr Reeves said.

“Joining the Agriculture Sector Advisory Committee offers a unique opportunity for experienced community members to provide valuable insight into the region's agriculture sector and play a vital role in ensuring its long-term support and growth.”

Expressions of interest will be accepted by Council until May 24, 2023.

To apply, visit Agricultural Assistance (

Latest Media Releases