.no-js-element { display:block; }
Print/Share this page

Mallacoota and district recovery

The information on this page is managed by the Mallacoota and District Recovery Association - not council.


If you have any questions regarding information on this page, please contact the association.


The Mallacoota and District communities have embarked on a locally-led recovery journey from the fires.


A small group of local people has worked together to present the communities with a proposed structure for the recovery process.


This structure has been gifted to Mallacoota and District by the Strathewen community who were devastated by the Black Saturday fires in 2009.


For more information contact East Gippsland Shire Council Recovery Facilitator Eva Grunden

Dr Rob Gordon: Bushfire Recovery

Social stressors and community resilience in Mallacoota and district in mid winter.

Watch the video https://youtu.be/ZpfDYRoPsvU


Community documents

Mallacoota and District Recovery Association

Announcement of results of the Committee Election 

On behalf of members of the Mallacoota and District Recovery Association, the Thinking Group would like to thank all candidates for being willing to offer themselves in the service of our community. We are pleased to announce that the following candidates have been elected to the Committee. In alphabetical order by family name, the successful candidates are:


David Appleton

Jude Benton

Tanya de Guess

Graham Dempster

Brodie Gaudion

Peter Hancock

Jenny Lloyd

Paul Preston

Trindi Suratnam

Mark Tregellas

Kerri Warren

Bryce Watts-Parker


Throughout the preceding four months more than twenty people have participated in the Thinking Group, as and when their time, skills and other commitments have made it possible for them to do so. We are confident that each Thinking Group participant, and all members, will join us in offering our congratulations to each successful candidate, hoping that you will find your time serving our community as rewarding and enjoyable as you will find it challenging and demanding. We thank you for being willing to take on this important role, offering hope that we can move forward together as a community.


The result of the election was formally declared at the Victorian Electoral Commission at 10.am on Thursday 21 May, 2020. 

Don Ashby, Marie Connellan, Leonie Daws, Lyn Harwood, Leo Op Den Brouw, Gail Sands.

Communicating with the Association





Mallacoota and District Recovery Association

Locked Bag No. 1005, Post Office, Mallacoota Vic 3892


Related Information

The documents provide information on learnings from Black Saturday and community-led recovery processes and structures.


Strathewen and Mallacoota - Mallacoota Mouth article

Lessons learned by Community Recovery Committees - 2009 bushfires

Leading in disaster recovery - a companion through the chaos



Rate this page - was the information useful to you?

Please type the code in the box below