.no-js-element { display:block; }
Print/Share this page

Mountain Rivers District

The Mountain Rivers District includes Bendoc, Goongerah, Tubbut, Deddick, Delegate River, Bonang, Dellicknora and Cabanandra districts.

The Mountain Rivers District is named for the many streams that trickle out of the springs and soaks of the Errinundra Plateau, shaping the valleys and eventually joining the Snowy River.


The least populated region of Victoria, it includes small hamlets such as Bendoc, Bonang, Goongerah, Gelantipy and Tubbut, which are nestled in river valleys and separated by grassy plans, farmland and mountainous woodlands. Farming has always been the region’s major economic activity.


The area features some of the most stunning alpine forest and river gorge scenery in the state, as well as the heritage-listed McKillop’s Bridge. Said to be the longest arc-welded steel truss road bridge in the world, the 255-metre bridge is one of the standing wonders of Australian road-bridge engineering and is a popular launching place for experienced canoeists who wish to explore the Snowy River.


Learn more about Council’s plans for the Mountain Rivers District by clicking on the links below.


Mountain Rivers District Community Plan

Mountain Rivers Connect


For further information about plans and projects in East Gippsland Shire, please email, phone 5153 9500 or sign up to receive updates by email.



Mountain Rivers District Community Plan

The Mountain Rivers District Community Plan 2012 to 2017 was developed by members of the Mountain Rivers communities and East Gippsland Shire Council. It includes priority strategies and actions for future development in the region.

Mountain Rivers District Community Plan (PDF)



Mountain Rivers Connect


mountain rivers.jpg


Subscribe to Mountain Rivers Connect and receive updates from East Gippsland Shire on plans and projects in your place.


Rate this page - was the information useful to you?

Please type the code in the box below